Windshift by Joyce Faulkner Historical Fiction

windshiftcover

In your own words, describe your book…

 

Joyce Faulkner: Windshift is about four young women pilots in the mid 1940s. They join Jackie Cochran’s Women’s Air Service Pilots (WASP) and become part of a unique organization of over 900 women “flying for their country.” The assignments range from ferrying aircraft from factories to Military installations to transporting VIPs to towing targets to mock dog fights. This was both exhilarating and frustrating for many of these young women who faced cultural roadblocks. The book is fun, fast-moving, and moving. Told from the point of view of Shirley Maxwell who is a withdrawn and troubled, we see her grow to a strong and resilient woman over the course of the book.

 

What is the genre?

 

Joyce Faulkner: Windshift can function in several genres. It recently took the Silver Medal in Dan Poynter’s Global eBook Awards for Historical Literature Contemporary (1940-NOW). It is also Women’s Literature, Literary Literature, and Adventure. It could be seen as Young Adult as well, but everyone – men, women, old, young, seem to enjoy this story of triumph.

 

Will this book be a standalone or part of the series?

 

Joyce Faulkner: While my historical fiction books, In the Shadow of Suribachi, Windshift, and a new piece I’m working on to be called Vala’s Bed aren’t sequels in the truest since of the word, they are related by characters. Delores Lieberman is one of the main characters in Windshift, her younger brother Arty is an important character in In the Shadow of Suribachi. A younger Pam Kline appears in In the Shadow of Suribachi as well. And Delores and Mags Strickland play important roles in the new novel, Vala’s Bed. While the plots are very different –- In the Shadow of Suribachi is about the Battle of Iwo Jima, Windshift is about the WASP, and Vala’s Bed is based on a story I learned when I visited Auschwitz — these stories are of course linked in time and philosophy.

 

What message would you like to convey with this book?

 

Joyce Faulkner: Windshift is a metaphor for the process of overcoming life’s challenges. I always say that social change begins with a few very strong and determined people. You know change is complete when it’s so common that people don’t even realize it was once a dream. Shirley, Emmie, Delores, and Mags represent those who bore the brunt of cultural resistance as well as those special few who saw opportunity and grabbed it. I hope women and men will find this story inspiring.

 

What books are similar to this one?

 

Joyce Faulkner: While I think Windshift is unique, it uses history to educate and inspire like Gone with the Wind and To Kill a Mockingbird.

 

Where can readers find your book?

 

Joyce Faulkner: Windshift hardcopies are available in any bookstore. If your store, doesn’t carry it, just ask them to order for you. You can also get them on Amazon and BN.com. The book is also available on Amazon in the Kindle format…and in the Apple iBook library as an interactive iBook including video and an extensive glossary explaining the historical significance of the many cultural references in Windshift.

 

Can you tell us some about the writer behind the book?

 

Joyce Faulkner: I have been writing since I was about 12 years old. I have always loved great literature and great thoughts. I studied writing at the University of Arkansas, Chemical Engineering at the University of Pittsburgh, and got my MBA from Cleveland State. Engineering and business brought discipline and depth to my work – travel and reading brought new ideas and stories. I could write until I am 150 and still not finish all of the stories I’ve amassed for the telling. Hopefully, my readers will find them as fascinating as I do.

 

Tell us one thing about you we wouldn’t know?

 

Joyce Faulkner: I took flying lessons as part of my research for Windshift. I also tried to ride in all of the planes mentioned in the book – or at least see them up close and personal.

 

How can readers connect with you?

 

Joyce Faulkner: They can email me at joycekfaulkner@gmail.com or they can find me on facebook at www.facebook.com/Windshift by Joyce Faulkner. I’m also on Twitter at @WindshiftInn. My website is www.joycefaulkner.com and the publisher’s website is www.redenginepress.com.

 

What are you working on now?

 

Joyce Faulkner: I’m researching Vala’s Bed and I’m working on a mystery novel with three other authors called Paragraphs: Mysteries of the Golden Booby which should be out in early 2014.

 

Do you have any other books released? What is your next release?

 

Joyce Faulkner: Aside from the three historical novels I’ve already mentioned – In the Shadow of Suribachi, Windshift, and Vala’s Bed – I have a mystery/thriller called USERNAME which I wrote because a college friend was taken by a serial killer. The story is about an aging serial killer who lures his victims through the Internet and an identity thief who works her marks online…and they target the same woman. USERNAME is available as a trade paperback, on Kindle and as an audio book on Amazon/Audible.com. I also have a collection of short fiction called Losing Patience, which is available on Kindle and as an iBook in the Apple iBook market, a second collection of “dark fiction” called Chance … and other horrors.

 

I also have several books I’ve written with coauthor Pat McGrath Avery which include Sunchon Tunnel Massacre Survivors, Role Call: Women’s Voices, and a children’s travel book, Fun Days on South Padre Island.

 

Also, a video of my short story, Just Hold Me performed by Michael D. “Moon” Mullins is free on YouTube. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9yQgSNfK_Mw

 

New works in the pipeline are Paragraphs: Mysteries of the Golden Booby with Bob Doerr, David Harry, and Pat McGrath Avery should be available in January of 2014. Also coming are Fun Days in Kansas City, Fun Days in Fon Du Lac, and Fun Days in Pittsburgh.

Leave a Reply

