Exiles of Raifor (Raifor Saga 1) by C.H. Ashton Science Fiction

claudeashtoncover

 

In your own words, describe your book: Gee, this is always very hard for me. If I were to describe it in my own words I would say that it’s a science fiction fantasy adventure novel. It’s about four characters and how they will deal with a galactic civil war which has essentially turned all of their lives upside down. IT features a diverse and interesting cast of characters, and is very action driven. The characters come from all corners of the galaxy and each one of them has a part to play in ending the war, but things aren’t as they seem. Unseen forces appear to be pulling the strings, and what original seemed like fate, now seems as if these characters are being moved around a board by someone. The series is about solving that mystery, and trying to save the galaxy from total destruction.

What is the genre? Science Fiction/Fantasy It’s a smooth blend of both. I’d actually prefer to call it Space Fantasy.

What inspired you to write this book? I wanted to write something that I didn’t feel many people were writing. When I was looking for science fiction novels I really didn’t think there was enough of a blend of fantasy in there. I wanted to see something with dragons, and gryphons, elves and magic, but in space! I didn’t feel it existed in an acceptable form, so I did it myself.

Will this book be a standalone or part of the series? It will be part of a series. The series will be the Raifor Saga, and will involve not only this period of time, but other eras in the Empire of Raifor. The stories will be told in three book arcs, and while there will be some crossover of characters, the arcs themselves will be standalone. The only exception to this will be the first two arcs. The first arc will involve a period known as the Schism War, which is the civil war that is currently affecting everything in the galaxy, but it is revealed during this war that other forces are manipulating the citizens of Raifor. The second arc will involve the struggle against those forces, and will take place almost immediately after the conclusion of the Schism War. Future arcs will take place either prior to the Schism War, or later in the timeline.


What message would you like to convey with this book?  Each book has a different theme, and they are all meant to convey a different message. Since we’re mostly referring to Exiles of Raifor, the theme there is dependence. Everyone needs someone, but it’s a good idea to ration that out. You don’t want to rely too heavily on others around you, or you’ll end up weak and ineffective without them. On the other hand, no one is an island, and you do occasionally need help, so don’t be afraid to ask for it. All of my characters in some way play into that particular theme.

What books are similar to this one?  I honestly can’t think of any book that is exactly like Exiles of Raifor. If you enjoy the setting of my novels, then Frank Herbert’s Dune series is certainly worth checking out. If you like the fast pace, then the Icewind Dale Trilogy by R.A. Salvatore is a must read. If you enjoy the cast of characters then I would recommend the Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan or the Mistborn Trilogy by Brandon Sanderson. If you enjoyed any of those then I think you would enjoy Exiles of Raifor.


Where can readers find your book? It can be found on:

Createspace (paperback)

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Smashwords

Inkterra

Kobo

It is soon to be on Google Play, Itunes, and many more.

Can you tell us some about the writer behind the book?  There’s not much to know about me. I’m actually a very simple and boring man. I’m a twenty-six years old black man, and I enjoy playing Video Games in my spare time. I love my family, and I’ve lived in the same town my entire life. I went to Red Bank Regional High School and graduated in 2005. I’ve always been fascinated by the idea of space, spaceships and faster than light travel. I’ve enjoyed fantasy since I was old enough to read. It’s always been my dream to write, and I don’t think I’ll ever stop doing it.

Tell us one thing about you we wouldn’t know? I still haven’t finished college. It’s something I plan to do someday, but as of now I still haven’t completed my degree.

How can readers connect with you? I am on twitter (@raiforsaga), facebook (facebook.com/raiforsaga) and of course my website http://www.raiforsaga.com.

What are you working on now?  I am currently in the process of editing my second novel Heroes of Raifor, as well as building the framework for my third title which is an as of yet untitled work in a new series.

Do you have any other books released? What is your next release?  I don’t currently have any more books released, but the release date for my next novel is December 15th 2013. The tentative release date for the first book in the new series is May 14th.

Leave a Reply

